Read more about the Windmill Pete series and author


New in 2023: Ball Hogs

The newest published book in the Windmill Pete Series is #7 Ball Hogs. Chip makes the eighth-grade team along with most of the rest of the gang. The season looks promising, but wait! What has happened to the best players? Have they gone crazy? Although Windmill is injured, maybe he can help Piggy and Chip find a solution.

Selma cemetery

Finding inspiration … in a cemetery

Take a look at the article on this cemetery in Selma Alabama and you will learn where Bob got his ideas for the cemetery in Windmill Pete’s town: Live Oak Cemetery at Selma (one of only a few cemeteries in the South listed on the NRHP) – RuralSWAlabama If you look at the location of the cemetery on the map of Selma at this link, you might also recognize some similarities between the layouts of the real and fictional towns.  When the family lived there, they often walked through this wonderful graveyard and rode their bikes in its newer version...

AM91 Radio

Listen to radio interview with the Author

Thursday, May 27, 2021 Author Bob Hemphill was interviewed on KPOF Radio, Denver to tell about his Windmill Pete book series. Bob told AM91 The Point of Faith listeners why he writes books aimed at boys ages 7 to 14. He explained how he draws a lot from growing up in a small Pennsylvania city in the 1950’s and 60’s, and suggests that kids today may be missing the benefits of outdoor activities of previous generations. Click here to listen to Bob’s interview.


Which should I read first?

You don’t need to read the Windmill Pete books in their numbered order.  Although the events recounted follow in sequence, each book can stand alone as its own interesting story.  The earlier books may appeal to younger children, and the later-numbered ones to children as they grow older. Parents or grandparents might begin by reading aloud Lost in the Woods #1 to get children interested in the characters and their adventures.  As you go, you might have the children read some of the pages out loud to you to determine how much they are understanding.  Then take them to The...

New in 2021: The Mysterious Stranger

The newest published book in the Windmill Pete Series is The Mysterious Stranger. This book introduces the whole gang and tells about them setting up their clubhouse rules.  In the midst of that process, the gang sees a mysterious stranger, an older man who is watching them.  The man leads them to a haunted-looking house, which takes them to a closed door, which leads them to the bottom of some stairs, and then on to the local hospital.  It’s there that Chip meets a new family who is moving to town, bringing two key actors into the upcoming dramas. One...

The Mysterious Stranger & Book Signing

After publishing six of the first eight books in the Windmill Pete series, author Bob Hemphill has gone back to finish book #2, The Mysterious Stranger. It is due for printing at Morris Publishers late summer or early fall 2018. You can pre-order it now by filling out the order form and sending it to [email protected]. (Please note the change in the author’s email address to [email protected].) Mark Your Calendars Bob is going to the be in Denver, June 14-16, at the Christian Home Educators of Colorado (CHEC) conference. Look him up at his display table and buy any of...

Lost in the Woods available

In June 2016, Lost in the Woods came off the press. Pre-orders were filled. New orders came in. Many copies were sold at the Reformed Presbyterian International Conference at Indiana Wesleyan University in July.  Copies were sent to Crown and Covenant Publishers in Pittsburgh.  Get your copy today directly from the author (click here) or order from Crown and Covenant.

Lost in the Woods published in 2016

At long last, in June 2016, Lost in the Woods was published. Chronologically, it is actually book #1 in the Windmill Pete Series. For those of you who have already read books 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8, Lost in the Woods introduces Chip Robbins, his best friend, Piggy, Chip’s parents and Piggy’s dog, Amnesia. The book tells of the anxious moments Chip and his family had when his little brother, Peewee, disappeared on a dark, moonless night. Through the experience, Chip learns to value those closest to him, even if sometimes they are hard to love. To Order your...

New Web Site Launched

On June 7, 2012 this web site went live!  Click around to learn more about the WMP book series and the author. And be sure to let us know what you think. We love feedback!

Meet Windmill Pete

The fourth published book in the Windmill Pete series introduces the main character of the series. Windmill Pete is the new kid in town. He is a country boy who does not get a ready welcome from the local bullies. Larger than life, Windmill proves to be quite the athlete. A hero in every way, he becomes the leader and role model for Chip Robbins and the members of the Shaky Woods gang. He is often the lightning rod for the excitement that commences. He can pitch, catch and throw like no one else his age, and he can do...

Nine Lives

Chip Robbins and his friends face a show down with the other sixth-grade’s football team. But Chips classmates have found a new friend, and he is providing competition for Chip both on the field and off. Chip decides he will give Todd Harrison just nine lives. Learn how the game turns out, who the heroes are and what happens between Chip and Todd.